Uncategorized

What’s the Big Idea?

I’m crazy analytical, a bit of a perfectionist and quite pedantic. Before even thinking of what I should write in a blog, I googled every tip and step that may be of some help for starting a blog (and there are a lot of tips and steps). So here we are… the day I finally post something.

You’re staring at my words on your screen hoping that clicking on this link was a good idea, trust me I’ve been there too. But before you leave just read on a little longer and if you’re still not happy then I promise that I wont be mad if you leave. I’m not a mom/DIY blogger, a fashion blogger nor am I a fitness or health blogger. Frankly I’m none of those things, I’m a 19-year-old university student who (at this point) does not work out or eat healthy.

tumblr_m3po5wbpyr1qgiltqo1_500

Part of starting this blog was the huge struggle of trying to figure out what  my main focus should be. A few months ago I had this urge to start a blog after I had to write a psychology essay about the #FeesMustFall protests. I initially wanted to make this blog about politics (I even made a video about the education, equal rights and the treatment of refugees, inspired by an Anonymous video.) During that time I wrote and wrote but I didn’t end up blogging anything. Now, this need to write has started again, I think it (again) may have been inspired by the rebirth of the Fees Must Fall protests in September (or it could have been a whole lot of things). So, my problem was that I didn’t want to only write about politics and my anger for our unjust world but something more. There are always so many things going on in my head and sometimes I need to get it out to see whether these thoughts are logical or mean anything.

So if you’re looking to turn your old shelf into a bed or learn a new crazy diet that helps you loose 5kgs in a week  then you’re definitely in the wrong place and I’m sorry. My aim for this blog is not to constantly rant and rave about politics but it is to talk about how university and the world around us could potentially affect and/or inspire students (like myself). I also hope to make this something relatable to many as I know how difficult it is to interpret ones surroundings in a logical manner.

 

Leave a comment